High School Sports Roundup: Nov. 8

The South Caldwell boys soccer team lost to Ardrey Kell 2-0 in the second round of the NCHSAA state tournament on Wednesday. 

Shane Riehl and Amanuel Berhe each scored in the second half for the Knights. The Spartans’ season ends with a 12-7-3 overall record and a 9-5 mark in Northwestern 3A/4A play.

Alexander Central 48, McDowell 0

The Cougars completed their third straight undefeated season with a 48-0 victory over visiting McDowell on Wednesday. Daniel Morgan ran for 227 yards and two touchdowns on just five carries, while Lance Justice rushed seven times for 128 yards and two scores. Dayente Calhoun also added a rushing touchdown and 68 yards as the Cougars (9-0) ran for 473 as a team.

The 32nd straight win for Alexander Central’s JV team clinches the Northwestern 3A/4A title at 6-0.

Foard’s Siemer earns NCHSAA weekly award

Fred T. Foard junior running back Corey Siemer has been named one of the NCHSAA’s performers of the week after his star-studded outing last week. 

In the Tigers’ 41-14 win over West Iredell, Siemer carried 35 times for 410 yards and six touchdowns. With that performance, he surpassed 2,000 rushing yards on the season and 3,000 for his career.

Northwestern Foothills announces conference awards

After winning the regular-season and tournament titles, Fred T. Foard has swept the Northwestern Foothills’ top postseason awards. Michelle Thao was named the league’s player of the year and Meredith Lutz is the conference’s coach of the year.

Joining Thao on the all-conference team from Foard are teammates Megan Dorsey, Dara Shaffer and Kaitlyn Zych. 

Other all-conference honorees include Bunker Hill’s Payton Bryant and Crystany White; East Burke’s Erica Clontz, Graleigh Hildebran and Riley Haas; Draughn’s Chloe Gary ; Hibriten’s Niki Pezzi; Patton’s Ella Gragg; and West Iredell’s McKenzy Sharpe, Amber Wooten, Gerren Tomlin and Piper West.

Honorable mentions went to Gwyn Brooks (Foard), Emily Johnson (West Iredell), Ashlyn Stilwell (East Burke), Sarah Houston (Bunker Hill), Madison Nelson (Draughn), Kenady Roper (Patton) and Emily Sullivan (Hibriten).

Northwestern Foothills announces conference awards

Fred T. Foard swept the conference runner of the year awards as Ben Trimm (boys) and Karina Coulter (girls) took the top spots. Tigers coach Robert Ogle was named the girls’ coach of the year, while Draughn’s Phillip Harkey won the award on the boys side.

Joining Trimm on the boys’ all-conference list are teammates Johnathan Puiu and James Wilkinson. Other all-conference honorees include East Burke’s Logan Shuford, Luke Elliott and Ayden Lingerfelt; Bunker Hill’s Christyan Murray, Austin Cornette and Ricky Blake; Draughn’s Tyler Ollis, Tommy Blackwell, Reed Farrar and Parker Smith; Patton’s Finn Rigsbee; and West Iredell’s Seth Williamson and Eric Sanders.

Honorable mentions for the boys went to Marshall Byrd and Ben Teffeteller (Draughn), Clay Seagle (East Burke), Peyton Hemphill (Foard), Ezra Proffit (Hibriten), Jacob Clapp (Patton) and Wesley Lytton (West Iredell).

Joining Coulter on the girls’ all-conference list are teammates Chloe Fountain, Paiden Dula and Zipporah Shelton. Other all-conference honorees include Bunker Hill’s Lindsey Elrod and Makayla Herman; West Iredell’s Aslan LaClair; Hibriten’s Sage Shiflett and McKenzie Lawrence; Patton’s Calli Westra, Sarah Browning and Sara Griggs; and Draughn’s Gracie Mitchell, Leanna Seagraves, Lauren Betancourt and Nevaeh Williams.

Honorable mentions for the girls went to Bayleigh Gentieu (Draughn), Kloie Grubbs (East Burke), Bianca Tamas (Foard), Emily Hussong (Hibriten), Annaleigh Breedlove (Patton) and Madison Milliron (West Iredell).​

Coaches are encouraged to submit results to with detailed information, including scores, individual statistics, team record and upcoming games.

Enter your NameEnter your Email Address

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.